Top 10 Run Scorers in the history of Indian Premier League

The IPL has been around for the past 14 years, and in this long period, there have been plenty of batsmen who have etched their names in IPL history. However, in the long run of the tournament, there are only some of the biggest names that make it to the list of the top 10 run-getters, and in this article, we shall discuss these big names and rank them in order of their run-scoring proficiency. To know today’s latest cricket news World Cup or T-20 scores, head to Sportscafe.

  1. Virat Kohli:

The modern-day run machine and cricketing great finds his way to the top of this list here as well. Virat Kohli, despite his lack of an IPL trophy, does find himself heading the list of elites. Kohli has 6240 runs to his name in the world’s leading T20 league. Today’s match score is complete without this man who has amassed these runs over 197 innings, where he has the highest score of 113 to boast of.

  1. Shikhar Dhawan:

Known as Gabbar to his fans, the Delhi Capitals’ opening batsman finds the second spot on the list as he boasts of 5698 runs that he has scored in the IPL. These runs have come in a total of 188 innings, and his highest score is an unbeaten 106.

  1. Rohit Sharma:

The most successful captain and the most successful player in the Indian Premier League finds himself third on the list of top run-getters in the tournament. The opening batsman for the Mumbai Indians has amassed 5593 runs in a total of 207 innings and has the highest score of 109 not out.

  1. Suresh Raina:

Once the leading run-scorer of the IPL, Suresh Raina has slipped behind in the rankings. This happened after he lost some form and skipped an entire season of the IPL in the year 2020. The Indian southpaw was known as Mr. IPL for his consistent performance over the years. Having represented the Chennai Super Kings in 11 seasons and the Gujarat Lions for two seasons, he has amassed 5528 runs in a total of 200 innings, with the highest score of 100 not out.

  1. David Warner:

The opening batsman for the Sunrisers Hyderabad has seen excellent success over the years in the IPL when it comes to run-scoring. Ranked fifth on the list of all-time run-scorers in the IPL, he has scored 5449 runs in just 150 innings! His highest score is 126.

  1. AB de Villiers:

The South African superstar has been the very essence of the IPL. He has scintillated the audience with his fabulous hitting multiple times, and despite coming in to bat as low as number 4, the batsman has scored 5125 runs in 168 innings. He also boasts of a high score of 133 not out.

  1. Chris Gayle:

The biggest entertainer in world cricket has entertained audiences in the Indi an Premier League as well. Having scored 4965 runs in the league in a total of just 141 innings, the Universe Boss has imprinted his authority in every IPL season. His highest score is a mammoth 175 not out that is yet to be surpassed.

  1. MS Dhoni:

Undoubtedly one of the biggest names of world cricket MSD finds himself in the eighth spot in the list of highest run-getters in the Indian Premier League. Having played in the league since its inception in 2008, the stalwart is a regular feature in almost every match his team plays unless he is unwell or unfit. Often coming out to bat at positions below 4, sometimes even at number 6, the most popular finisher of world cricket has performed exceptionally well and has scored 4728 runs in 192 innings. He also has the highest score of 84 not out.

  1. Robin Uthappa:

The batsman has played in various positions for numerous teams in the Indian Premier League over the years. Having won the Orange Cap once, the batsman has scored a total of 4628 runs in 184 innings. He also has the highest score of 87 in the league.

  1. Gautam Gambhir:

The final spot in the list has been occupied by the former Kolkata Knight Riders skipper, who opened the batting for both the IPL teams he played for. He amassed 4217 runs in 152 innings and had the highest score of 93 runs before he retired from all forms of international cricket.

The games and today match score will keep these batsmen on their toes.